Recent Posts

How to Delete Facebook Messages

How to Delete Facebook Messages



When seeking to clear your chat history on Facebook or Messenger, you must make a decision between one of two actions: removing a specific message or deleting the entire history of your conversations between you and another person on Facebook.

You may want to delete just one message (or a few) out of your entire history. Or you may want to clear your chat history to start a new conversation without the distraction of old text hovering above, or to hide the information from potentially prying eyes.

In either case, we'll show you what steps to take depending on whether you're working on a computer or a mobile device like your phone or tablet.

One warning in advance, however: unlike some messaging apps, deleting Facebook messages or clearing your history does not remove the message from other people's history. If you've sent an embarrassing message to a friend and deleted that message from your chat history, your friend still has a copy. The best bet is to never say anything via a message—or anywhere online—that you would not want as part of the permanent record.

Facebook

Facebook is a social networking site that makes it easy for you to connect and share with your family and friends online. Originally designed for college students, Facebook was created in 2004 by Mark Zuckerberg while he was enrolled at Harvard University. By 2006, anyone over the age of 13 with a valid email address could join Facebook. Today, Facebook is the world's largest social network, with more than 1 billion users worldwide.

How to Delete Facebook Messages. 

Tip: If you're deleting Facebook messages to clear out the conversation list, keep in mind that you can always use the archive feature for that. That way, the messages won't be permanently removed, but they will be cleared away from the main list of conversations.

Permanently Delete Facebook Chat History Using a Computer 


  • Open Facebook.
  • Click the Messages icon at the top right of the        screen. It's the one between the buttons for friend requests and notifications.
  • Click the message thread you want to permanently delete so that it pops up at the bottom of the screen.


Tip: You can also open all the threads at once with the See All in Messenger link at the bottom of the pop-up, but if you do that, skip down to item 2 below.

How to Delete Facebook Messages. 

  • Use the small gear icon next to that window's exit button (called Options if you hover your mouse over it) to open a new menu.
  • Select Delete Conversation from that pop-up menu.
  • When asked to Delete This Entire Conversation?, choose Delete Conversation.

How to Permanently Delete Messenger.com Chat History 

Use these steps to delete entire Facebook messages from Messenger.com or Facebook.com/messages/:


  • Visit Messenger.com or Facebook.com/messages.
  • Find the Facebook conversation you want to delete.
  • On the far right-hand side, next to the recipient's name, click the small gear icon to open a new menu.
  • Click the Delete option.
  • Click Delete again when you're asked to confirm.

Use the Messenger App to Permanently Delete Facebook Chat History 

Follow this first set of instructions to delete an entire message in Facebook Messenger:
  • Open the Messenger app on your mobile device.
  • Tap and hold on the conversation you want to be deleted.
  • Choose Delete Conversation from the pop-up menu.
  • Confirm it with the Delete Conversation option.


Here's how to delete a single Facebook message from a conversation:

  • Find the conversation and message you want to remove.
  • Press and hold on the message to see a new menu show on the bottom of the app.
  • Choose Delete once, and then again when asked.


How to Delete an Individual Message 

You can delete single messages in any conversation, whether you sent them yourself or received them some someone else.

  1. Click on the Messenger icon at the top right of the screen.
  2. Click See All in Messenger at the bottom of the Messenger box that opens.
  3. Click on a conversation in the left panel. The conversations are listed in chronological order with the most recent conversation at the top. If you don't see the conversation you want, use the search field at the top of the Messenger panel to locate it.
  4. Click on the individual entry of the conversation you want to delete to open a three-dot icon next to the entry.
  5. Click the three-dot icon to bring up the Delete bubble and click it to remove the entry.
  6. Confirm the deletion when prompted to do so.

How to Delete an Entire Messenger Conversation 

If you no longer plan to communicate with a person or just want to clean up your Messenger list, it is faster to delete the entire conversation than to go through one post at a time:


  1. Click on the Messenger icon at the top right of the screen.
  2. Click See All in Messenger at the bottom of the Messenger box that opens.
  3. Click on a conversation in the left panel. When you select a conversation, Facebook displays a cog wheel icon next to it. The conversations are listed in chronological order with the most recent conversation at the top. If you don't see the conversation you want, use the search field at the top of the Messenger panel to locate it.
  4. Click on the cog wheel icon next to the conversation you want to delete.
  5. Click Delete in the menu that opens.
  6. Confirm the deletion and the entire conversation disappears.

How to Delete Facebook Messages. 


Download Facebook Messages and Data 

Facebook offers a way to download your Facebook messages, along with all of your Facebook data, including pictures and posts, as an archive.

  1. Click the down arrow in the top right of the Facebook browser window.
  2. Select Settings from the drop-down menu.
  3. Under General Account Settings, click Download a copy of your Facebook data at the bottom of the screen.
  4. Supply your password when prompted to do so to begin the gathering and download process.
If you will like touch with technology page so please share and comment 

No comments